QLD Roadworthy Rules

While Queensland doesn't categorize the specific checks for a safety certificate (Roadworthy Certificate or RWC) by subcategories, they do outline the essential areas inspected. Here's a breakdown of the key areas covered during a motorcycle RWC in Queensland:

1. Vehicle Identification:

  • Make, model, year of manufacture, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

2. Safety Equipment:

  • Brakes (including handbrake, condition of discs/pads, fluid levels)
  • Steering (smooth operation, no excessive play)
  • Suspension (functionality, no leaks)
  • Tyres (tread depth, condition, correct inflation)
  • Wheels (no cracks, damage, or loose spokes)
  • Lights (headlight, taillight, brake light, turn signals, horn)
  • Mirrors (two functional mirrors)

3. Fluids and Leaks:

  • Engine oil level and condition
  • Coolant level and condition
  • Brake fluid level and condition

4. Frame and Body:

  • No significant damage or structural issues
  • No excessive corrosion

5. Engine and Drivetrain:

  • No abnormal noises or vibrations
  • Securely mounted engine and exhaust system
  • No leaks from engine or drivetrain components

6. Labels and Markings:

  • Compliance plates and labels (e.g., noise emission compliance) are present and legible

7. Additional Points (May Vary):

  • Speedometer functionality
  • Battery condition (may not apply to all motorcycles)
  • Chain and sprockets (wear and tear)

Important Note: This is not an exhaustive list, and specific requirements may vary depending on your motorcycle model and year. It's always best to consult the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR) website for the latest information on motorcycle RWC guidelines: https://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/

Contact form